Board of Directors

2013-2014 Executive Committee

Past Presidents

Marsha Hanen, adjunct professor, University of Victoria; former President University of Winnipeg; former President of the Sheldon Chumir Foundation for Ethics in Leadership
John Nelligan, Q.C.
Harry Arthurs
Walter Pitman
The Hon. Allan Blakeney (1925-2011)
The Hon. J. Keiller MacKay (1888-1970)
The Hon. Walter Tarnopolsky (1932-1993)
J.S. Midanik, Q.C. (1920-1997)
Sybil Shack (1911-2004)

Richard Pound, Partner, Stikeman Elliott LLP,
former president of the World Anti-Doping Agency, former chancellor of McGill University,  former vice-president of the International Olympic Committee

John D. McCamus, Professor of Law and University Professor at Osgoode Hall Law School

Frank Addario, criminal lawyer
Jamie Cameron, Osgoode Hall Law professor
Marlys Edwardh, criminal lawyer

Katherine Govier, former President, PEN Canada
Edward L. Greenspan, Q.C., criminal lawyer
Patricia Jackson, counsel to the Arbour Inquiry into the Prison for Women
Mahmud Jamal, Special Counsel to CCLA in kirpan case and others
Delia Opekokew, general counsel, Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations
The Hon. Howard Pawley, former Premier of Manitoba
Kenneth P. Swan, Labour arbitrator
Dr. Joseph Wong, former President, Chinese Canadian Council on Race Relations

Sydney Goldenberg, former counsel, Ontario Human Rights Commission



2013-2014 Board of Directors

Frédéric Bachand, McGill Law professor
Jasmine T. Akbarali, Special Counsel to CCLA in Afghani detainees case and others
The Hon. Warren Allmand, former Solicitor General of Canada
The Hon. Ronald Atkey, Q.C., former Chair, Security Intelligence Review Committee

Louise Aucoin, Moncton University Faculty of Law professor
Isabel Bassett, broadcaster and politician
Audrey Boctor, constitutional law practitioner
Joseph Boyden, author
The Hon. Edward Broadbent, former leader, New Democratic Party of Canada
Leah Casselman, former President, Ontario Public Service Employees Union (OPSEU)
Aloke Chatterjee, University of New Brunswick Faculty of Law professor
Dominique Clément, University of Alberta professor
* Jane Cobden, Halifax psychiatric social worker
Dr. Debby Copes, member, Medical Reform Group
David Cronenberg, film maker
Brian A. F. Edy, Calgary lawyer
Vicki Gabereau, television host
* Louis Greenspan, Emeritus professor of philosophy, McMaster University
Hussein Hamdani, lawyer, Muslim-Jewish Dialogue of Hamilton
Shirley Heafey, former Chief Commissioner, Commission for Complaints Against RCMP
Jameel Jaffer, Director of the national security program for the American Civil Liberties Union
Harish Jain, Professor emeritus, McMaster University, DeGroote School of Business
Jean-Pierre Kingsley, former president and CEO of the International Foundation for Electoral Systems, former Chief Electoral Officer of Elections Canada
Joy Kogawa, author
Cyril Levitt, Professor, McMaster University
Jonathan Lisus, litigator
Andrew Lokan, Special Counsel to CCLA in same-sex marriage case and others
Ronald MacIsaac, B.C. trial lawyer
Deepa Mehta, filmmaker
* Cindy Murdoch, Manitoba Association of Rights and Liberties
Erna Paris, author and journalist
Paul Schabas, counsel for the Ontario Association for the Deaf
Marvin Schiff, former Director, Nova Scotia Human Rights Commission
* Corey Shefman, president, Manitoba Association for Rights & Liberties
Mark L. Stevenson, Principal, Mark L Stevenson Law Corp
Marie-Ève Sylvestre, professor of law, University of Ottawa
* Walter Thompson, Halifax, Nova Scotia lawyer
The Very Rev. Lois Wilson, former President, World Council of Churches, former Independent Senator
Frank Work, Information & Privacy Commissioner, Alberta

* Denotes CCLA Chapter Representative

Honorary Patrons
The Hon. Saul Cherniack, Q.C., former treasurer, Province of Manitoba
Robert Fulford, National Post columnist
Fernand Daoust, former President, Quebec Federation of Labour
Susan Eng, former Chair, Toronto Police Services Board
Mel Finkelstein, former Chair, Board of Jewish Education
Anne La ForestDean, University of New Brunswick, Faculty of Law
The Hon. Constance R. Glube, Q.C., former Chief, Nova Scotia Supreme Court
A. Wayne Mackayprofessor of law, Dalhousie University